What Does God Desire From His People?

What Does God Desire From His People?

Psalm 51:1-4, 9-13 (NIV) 
Scripture used from free online Bible Software from (Bible Gateway)

Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to 
your great compassion blot out my transgressions. Wash away all my 
iniquity and cleanse me from my sin. For I know my transgressions, and 
my sin is always before me. Against you, you only, have I sinned and 
done what is evil in your sight; so you are right in your verdict and 
justified when you judge. Hide your face from my sins and blot out all 
my iniquity. Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast 
spirit within me. Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy 
Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a 
willing spirit, to sustain me. Then I will teach transgressors your 
ways, so that sinners will turn back to you. Psalm 51:1-4,9-13 (NIV)

God desires Repentance, Restoration, Obedience, and Communication.

Everyday all across the world sin against God is on the rise. As 
Believers in God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit we 
should be on the rise of sharing our faith. Take a minute and think 
about the last three months. How many opportunities has God given you 
to share the greatest gift of all time? The gift of Salvation is freely
given to us through Jesus ( God the Son ). Isaiah 53:1-6 reminds us of 
the price Jesus paid for our sins. John 3:16 shows us that God loves us all. 
John 14:6 reminds us that only through Jesus Christ our Lord can 
we receive this beautiful gift that God has blessed us with. This 
passage in Psalm 51 is very good example of what God desires from us 
all. 

Repentance - verses 1-4 = Our cry out to God with the acknowledgement 
that we are sinners in need of His Grace and Mercy. These verses remind
us that only the blood of Jesus can blot out our sins before God.

Restoration - verses 9-12 = These Words are a cry out to God to restore
and revive our hearts. It is the seeking of a deeper relationship with 
God. In praying these Words, we are expressing our desire to be close 
to God. We are telling and showing God that we need Him more than 
anything. In doing these things, our Joy and Thankfulness not only 
returns, but flourishes. We become more concerned about staying in the 
presence of God and less concerned with gratifying the desires of our 
flesh. God desires to not only give us a spirit of restoration, but 
also a spirit to sustain us throughout our lives. Yet, the real question
here is are we willing to let go of the world and embrace God?!

Obedience - verse 13 = Teaching and Living your life experiences with 
God to others. In following this step of sharing our Faith, this shows 
others and God that He is important. It is a sign of obedience that God
is pleased with.

Communication - verses 1-4, 9-13 = Prayer of confessing our sins to 
God. Seeking cleansing from God. Sharing our Faith in Jesus with others.
Each of these lines of communication all point to Jesus. Jesus has show
us what living for God looks like. Now it is time we start putting into
practice what Jesus asked us to do. 

May God bless you today and everyday as you serve Him with all of your 
heart, mind, body, and soul.

From my heart to yours,

Pastor G
Leave a Reply

