Love…

Hello readers! I am Pastor G’s wife, M. I will be sharing pieces of my heart with you on Mondays and Thursdays. Pastor G will be writing on the other days. We have been so very blessed to work in ministry together for the past eleven years!

I love this time of year. The season starts to change from summer to fall. The kids go back to school. (We have a kindergartner and a first grader!) Football season. But, mainly, this time of year reminds me of when I met my husband. I can’t help but just sit back and smile as precious memories come flooding back. I can still feel the butterflies in my stomach on the day we first met. It is quite a story. I think I will share a little of it, so you can get to know us a little better.

We were both attending college at Ouachita Baptist University in Arkadelphia, Arkansas. I had just started my sophomore year. G had just transferred to OBU for his senior year. He was getting ready to graduate from Henderson State University, but felt the Lord call him across the street to OBU. 🙂 I was at cheer practice in the gym, when I heard an unfamiliar voice, “Hey M! You looking fine!” I was quite embarrassed. I had no clue who he was. Later that evening, I got a call from a friend asking me to come by their new apartment and watch movies. So, I went…..Yep, G was his new room mate! It was a set up! We have been pretty inseparable since. We met Fall 2001, feel head over heels in love, and married right after finals in May 2002.

What is love?! Love is best defined in 1 Corinthians 13:4-8:

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.”

I have learned that love is not just a feeling, but it is an action. It requires effort from both parties. I love my husband deeply. My love for him grows daily. But, I must always remember to love God the most!

So, today, I challenge you to write a love letter to The One who made your heart–Jesus, and the one who holds your heart on Earth. Just remember to be blessed and be a blessing to others! God is Love!

~M.

Leave a Reply

