S.M.I.L.E

Since my hubby has been talking about stress relief this week. I thought I would lighten the mood a little. Around Mother’s Day, he asked me, “If you could tell other moms anything, what would it be?” (We have two children. They are 5 and 6) So, I am going to tweak what I wrote to fit everyone. Thank you for taking time to read our blog! I am so encouraged by the positive feedback. May God bless you and yours with wonderful weekend!

Proverbs 15:30:”A cheerful look brings joy to the heart; good news makes for good health.”

Just remember to SMILE:

S-Seek God’s guidance in all you do. Life is full of decisions, and if we want to make the right choices—those that glorify God, benefit us and our family—we need the Lord’s guidance. Psalm 32:8: The Lord says, “I will guide you along the best pathway for your life. I will advise you and watch over you.”

M-Make every moment count. Our children grow up so fast and we are not promised tomorrow. The world continues to change (and not for the better). We need to make sure we, ourselves, are making each moment count. Tell someone about Jesus. Live in a way that others see God in you! Matthew 25:13: “So you, too, must keep watch! For you do not know the day or hour of my return.”

I-Instill God’s word into your life and your family’s lives. The Bible must be at the center of all we do as moms/dads, wives/husbands, sisters/brothers, coworkers, friends, and children of God if we intend to lead our children and this world to the Lord. Psalm 119:105: “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path.”

L-Learn to listen more. Listen to God and He will guide you. Listen to your children and build a loving relationship. Listen to your spouse and build a more intimate bond. Listen to your parents, they have been there and done that and have wisdom to guide you through those times. Listen to you boss–who knows you might get a raise or at least their respect. James 1:19: “My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry”

E-Encourage your children, your spouse, your friends, your parents, and others. We all stumble and make mistakes. Just pick yourself up and keep working for the Lord. Are you doing a good work in His eyes?!! Hebrews 3:13: “But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called “Today,” so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.”

There are so many times in life, when it is just hard to smile. Trust me, I know. I’ve been battling illness after illness for over 14 months. But, the devil can not take my joy away. My hope comes from the Lord. Psalm 121:2 — “My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth.”

He is the great physician and He will heal me in His time and for His Glory! Psalm 41:3 reminds us, “The LORD sustains them on their sickbed and restores them from their bed of illness.” Isn’t that so exciting and comforting to know. But, as I am waiting, I will continue to SMILE. I have so very much to smile about. Don’t sweat the small stuff. Focus on the bigger picture–the Kingdom of God!

Be Blessed and Be a Blessing to Others,
~M

“For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” Ephesians 2:10

3 thoughts on “S.M.I.L.E

  1. Pingback: Be Still and Know… | My Blog, aka, Sorry My Mind Must Have Wandered

Leave a Reply

