Joshua 1:5-6

5-No man will be able to stand before you all the days of your life. Just as I have been with Moses, I will be with you; I will not fail you or forsake you. 6-Be strong and courageous, for you shall give this people possession of the land which I swore to their fathers to give them.

Notes verses 5-6 — God said, “I will”. This is a promise that still rings true today just as much as it did the moment He said it to Joshua. “I will be with you.” “I will not fail you.” “I will not forsake you.” “No man will be able to stand before you.” “You shall give this people.” “God swore to their fathers to give them.” “Be strong.” “Be courageous.” God gave Joshua eight statements of instruction and promise. We sometimes forget that we are serving and worshiping the same God that spoke these powerful words to Joshua. God was in a way giving Joshua a pep talk. He was encouraging him and assuring him that he was not alone. Remember Joshua was a simple stone cutter before he became the leader of epic proportions. Everyday God speaks to us. Even though we may not get a burning bush or talking donkey moment. He still speaks. I have gone through times in which I felt that God had abandoned me. I thought He had failed to keep His promises. What I did not realize at the time was that God was allowing me to experience what He feels when I abandoned or forget about Him. God had never left my side and He had not failed me. It was simply a time of refinement in my life. This experience became a painful, depressing, and glorious moment. With each stage of the experience I would find myself questioning why me. Then it hit me that God had counted me worthy enough to go through the refinement process. God had chosen me to be refined. This verse brought me great comfort and assurance that the “I Am” would follow through with His “I Will”. Knowing this information did not bring me comfort, but Believing what I knew brought me through. What do you believe?

Blessings,

Pastor G

Leave a Reply

